Headliner of State: In Order | DC IMPROV | Comedy Club, Restaurant, Bar, School N.W. Washington D.C.
Monday, 20 February 2017 04:00

Headliner of State: In Order

Happy Presidents Day! We're celebrating with the conclusion of "Headliner of State," our search for the funniest president. Each episode of this series features an expert talking about the personality and humor of president. We didn't go through the presidents in chronological order during the year ... but if you want to catch up in chronological order, here's a list.

1. George Washington. Azie Dungey, the creator of the "Ask a Slave" web series and now a writer for "Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt."

2. John Adams. Amanda Norton of the Massachusetts Historical Society.

3. Thomas Jefferson. Andy Burstein, author of "Democracy's Muse: How Thomas Jefferson Became an FDR Liberal, a Reagan Republican, and a Tea Party Fanatic, All the While Being Dead."

4. James Madison. Christian Cotz, director of visitor education programs at Montpelier in Orange County, Va..

5. James Monroe. Dan Preston, the editor of James Monroe's papers at Mary Washington College.

6. J.Q. Adams. James Traub, journalist and author of "John Quincy Adams: Militant Spirit."

7. A. Jackson. Michael Friedman, the composer and lyricist of "Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson."

8. Martin Van Buren. James Bradley, journalist and co-editor of Van Buren's papers.

9. W.H. Harrison. Megan Amram, the lead comedy writer for the "William Henry Harrison" episode of "Parks and Recreation."

10. John Tyler. Ed Crapol of the College of William and Mary, author of "John Tyler: The Accidental President."

11. James Polk. John Bicknell, journalist and author of "America 1844."

12. Zachary Taylor. Podcast host Chris White tries seven minutes of stand-up AS Zachary Taylor.

13. Millard Fillmore. The two men tweeting as @fillmoremillard.

14. Franklin Pierce. Peter Wallner, author of "Franklin Pierce: New Hampshire's Favorite Son."

15. James Buchanan. Pat Clarke, the director of James Buchanan's Wheatland in Lancaster, Pa.

16. Abraham Lincoln. Richard Carwardine, Lincoln Prize winner and author of "Lincoln's Sense of Humor."

17. Andrew Johnson. David Stewart, author of "Impeached!"

18. U.S. Grant. Kenneth J. Serfass, an educator who performs nationwide as Grant.

19. Rutherford Hayes. Kristina Smith of the Hayes Presidential Library and Museums in Fremont, Ohio.

20. James Garfield. Todd Arrington, site manager of the James Garfield National Historic Site in Mentor, Ohio.

21. C.A. Arthur. Chris Oldstone-Moore, historian and author of "Of Beards and Men."

22/24. Grover Cleveland. Sharon Farrell, caretaker of the Grover Cleveland Birthplace in Caldwell, NJ.

23. Benjamin Harrison. Charlie Hyde, director of the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site in Indianapolis.

25. William McKinley. Chris Kenney, director of education at the McKinley Presidential Library and Museum in Canton, Ohio.

26. Teddy Roosevelt. Joe Wiegand, a reprisor who performs nationwide as TR.

27. W.H. Taft. Jonathan Lurie, a law professor and author of "William Howard Taft: Travails of a Progressive Conservative"

28. Woodrow Wilson. Andrew Phillips, curator of the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum in Staunton, Va.

29. Warren Harding. Sherry Hall, the site manager of the Harding Home Presidential Site in Marion, Ohio.

30. Calvin Coolidge. Amity Shlaes, journalist, historian and author of "Coolidge."

31. Herbert Hoover. Tom Schwartz, director of the Hoover Presidential Library and Museum in West Branch, Iowa.

32. F.D. Roosevelt / William Harris of the FDR Presidential Library and Museum in Hyde Park, NY.

33. Harry Truman. Matthew Algeo, journalist and author of "Harry Truman's Excellent Adventure."

34. Dwight Eisenhower. / Michael Birkner, history professor at Gettysburg College and author of a book on Sherman Adams.

35. John Kennedy. Thomas Maier, journalist and author of "When Lions Roar: The Churchills and the Kennedys."

36. L.B. Johnson. Robert Schenkkan, award-winning playwright of "All the Way."

37. Richard Nixon. Patric Verrone, a writer/producer of "Futurama."

38. Gerald Ford. Ron Nessen, Ford's press secretary and a guest host of "Saturday Night Live."

39. Jimmy Carter. James Fallows, journalist and former lead speechwriter for Carter.

40. Ronald Reagan. Lou Cannon, journalist and Reagan biographer.

41. George H.W. Bush. Curt Smith, a Bush speechwriter and author of "George H.W. Bush: Character at the Core."

42. Bill Clinton. Mark Katz, a humorist, speechwriter and author of "Clinton and Me."

43. George W. Bush. Frank Caliendo, a headlining comedian known for his impressions of Bush and Donald Trump.

44. Barack Obama. Brad Jenkins and David Litt, former White House staffers now working for Funny or Die DC.

45. Inauguration. Chris White names the funniest president of all time.